Repairs With Pocket Holes


This weekend I worked on modifying a piece of furniture for a co-worker, and the Kreg Pocket Hole jig was a major timesaver while working on the piece.

It was a desk that could be completely disassembled. The co-worker want the depth of the desk to be cut down from 33 1/8 inches to 24 inches. Easy enough to do on the edge-glued solid birch top – I just ripped it on the table saw. But the end aprons presented a challenge.

These parts were notched near the ends (as were the front and back aprons) to accept a corner block used to attach the desk legs. The corner blocks were attached to the aprons with screws. My original thought was to simply cut the aprons to length, then re-cut a v-notch for the corner brace. But rather than having to pull out the router with the appropriate bit and test cut on scrap, I decided to go a different route (pun intended).

I measured out the rough distance I needed for the aprons after attaching the front and back aprons on the top and after I had cut the top to width (the aprons are attached with corner braces). Then I determined how much I needed to remove from the end aprons, marked slightly less than I needed on the parts, and cut them in two. I test fit them just by placing them cut side to cut side, and kept cutting away (sneaking up on the fit) until they were the right length.

Finally, I drilled two pocket holes on one of the parts (I could also have drilled one on each part, alternating their placement), and joined the two using glue and pocket hole screws.

A bit of sanding and touch up paint and I had a perfect fitting end apron.

Published in: Uncategorized on July 11, 2010 at 3:05 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://chiefsshop.wordpress.com/2010/07/11/repairs-with-pocket-holes/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

